Purple Beans with Garlic Mint Sauce

I came across this recipe while surfing the internet today, so thought I would reblog it. I didn’t even know that purple beans existed! I hope Wegmans carries it!

Sustainable Cooking for One

I have a semi-secret adoration of purple vegetables; not because I want to eat only purple food, but rather because I think the chemical compounds that create purple and blue (anthocyanins) are pretty awesome. Naturally found in a number of foods, including beans, cabbage, kohlrabi, select cultivars of cauliflower and the occasional ear of corn, they have some interesting antioxidant effects and are good pH meters. Oh, and it’s such a pretty color. The beans really do come in that shade (variability is possible due to your monitor…).

View original post 301 more words

Leave a Reply

