9 DAYS TILL CHANUKAH

Well, I took the bull by the horns yesterday after writing my blog post and called our dear friends that moved to Buffalo. We caught up and it was wonderful hearing Leo’s voice. Hopefully, I’ll hear from Laura soon. It was great to hear that their kids are both doing well and are happy and that everyone is healthy!

What shall we discuss today?

I know it’s untimely, or perhaps it’s perfect timing. Let’s talk about Ferguson, Missouri. Paul and I were recently in Missouri for our niece’s wedding. The hotel we stayed at was about 10 minutes away from Ferguson. Talk about day and night! The hotel was pure elegance and not cheap…at least in my eyes and there, down the street, was Ferguson, the picture of poverty. We were there in late September. While there, my hubby got lost coming from Walmart where he had to go one day to pick up a prescription for me for crucial meds that I forgot to pack. He got lost in Ferguson. Today, while chatting with Leo, and telling him about the wedding, I heard Paul say that he thinks the news media is just heating things up and exaggerating. I was flabbergasted to hear him say this. Why? Well, because I lived through the Rochester Race Riots of the 60s and that was no picnic. I imagine things are even worse in Ferguson, especially after the verdict of a few days ago, since they are still rioting. Paul even said that there was no rioting….maybe not on the day he was there, thank G-d!, but I am sure there was and is rioting going on there.

What would it have been like if Jews had rioted in Europe, in Jerusalem throughout the ages? I shudder to think about that. I do understand the motivations of rioting and discontent. I do understand poverty, hunger and poor conditions. I wasn’t always a Jewish princess. No, that didn’t come until I married my hubby and I am not a rich Jewish princess by any stretch of the imagination.

I am a child of the 50s and 60s. I struggled, although my parents helped me greatly. I was lucky they could. But, I did go without food at times and I never lived in nice apartments nor did I ever live in the suburbs. I grew up in a great neighborhood in the City of Rochester. I lived in a nice home, thanks to the sacrifices my parents made on my behalf. Maybe it wasn’t as nice as most of my cousins’ homes but it was a beautiful home to me and full of love. I have it a bit better today, thanks to my hubby. But I remember the years I struggled as a single young woman. I remember doing so many stupid things. But, that is life. What did I know though of prejudice? Plenty!

I first felt prejudice from the mother of a young man I was very much in love with. She equated Jews with Blacks, she hated both. I next came across it in an office where I worked. There was an invisible division, a silent one, but it was there. I was careful not to dramatically cross the line. And luckily, I had a defender or two there also. But it was nothing like my mother’s experience in her first jobs. Again, I was lucky. Also, the color of my skin didn’t mark me outwardly. But then, I knew about the pogroms and the Holocaust. I now know about the trials of people all over the world who are treated shamefully. What I don’t know and wish I did is what to do about all of this? How can I make this a better place to live in? A world of peace? I don’t know, but this is how I am trying, by sharing with you here my thoughts and my recipes. This, to me,  is a step in saying, “This is who I am. I’m glad to meet you. Come, let me get to know you. Maybe we can become friends.” If we can become friends, that is step one in the peace process, I think. To those of you in Ferguson and elsewhere in the world that are being persecuted because of any reason, my prayers are with you and I hope that soon you will be able to exist as easily as I am currently existing. So, in friendship, I offer all of you this recipe for sweetness in hopes you can enjoy it!

 

mint chocolate-chip cookies

Home Cookin Chapter: COOKIES 2014

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

===========================

25 MIN Prep Time

40 MIN Total Time

36 Servings

 

INGREDIENTS:

 

1 Pouch (1 lb 1.5 oz) Betty Crocker™ sugar cookie mix

1/2 Cup butter or margarine, softened

1/4 To 1/2 teaspoon mint extract

6 To 8 drops green food color

1 Egg

1 Cup creme de menthe baking chips

1 Cup semisweet chocolate chunks

 

DIRECTIONS:

 

Heat oven to 350°F.

 

In large bowl, stir cookie mix,

butter, extract, food color and egg until soft dough forms. Stir

in creme de menthe baking chips and chocolate chunks.

Using small cookie scoop or teaspoon, drop dough 2 inches apart on

ungreased cookie sheet.

 

Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until set. Cool 3 minutes; remove from

cookie sheet to wire rack. Serve warm or cool completely.

 

Storetightly covered at room temperature.

 

Drizzle cooled cookies with melted chocolate.

 

For even baking, make sure cookies are of the same shape and size.

 

Nutrition Information

Serving Size: 1 Cookie

Calories140 ( Calories from Fat60), % Daily Value Total Fat7g7%

(Saturated Fat4 1/2g,4 1/2% Trans Fat1/2g1/2% ),

Cholesterol15mg15%; Sodium75mg75%; Total Carbohydrate17g17%

(Dietary Fiber0g0% Sugars13g13% ), Protein1g1% ; % Daily Value*:

Vitamin A0%; Vitamin C0%; Calcium0%; Iron0%;

Exchanges:

0 Starch; 0 Fruit; 1 Other Carbohydrate; 0 Skim Milk; 0 Low-Fat

Milk; 0 Milk; 0 Vegetable; 0 Very Lean Meat; 0 Lean Meat; 0

High-Fat Meat; 1 1/2 Fat;

Carbohydrate Choices:1

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

Servings: 0

Exported from Home Cookin 8.59 (www.mountainsoftware.com)

10 responses

    • I would love to taste your cookies, Ema! Bet they are delicious!!! Got any recipes you would like to share with my readers? I’d let you be my first guest blogger!!! Now, wouldn’t that be fun? What kind of cookies are you going to make? Do you have any special traditions? I’d love to hear about them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

