6 DAYS UNTIL CHANUKAH OR HELP WANTED


helpwanted02

 

It’s 2:00 p.m. I have only been awake and up for an hour. I didn’t fall asleep until 8 a.m. I could not turn my head off last night. Don’t you hate nights like that? I shouldn’t complain though as I actually got to work on my book, not that you could tell. All I completed was a few paragraphs of page 1. But, at least it is an accomplishment, albeit a small one. In it I introduced three characters and set the starting locale. After that was completed, I decided to check the descriptions for the chapter that I had previously laid out in my scene outline and in the story summary in my Anthemion Writer’s Cafe program. This helped me to see that I had missed things I wanted to accomplish in the story’s opening and it helped me see what I still need to add. This method seems time-consuming, and it is, but I think it is working for me. In my earlier attempts at writing, I just wrote. That didn’t work for me. Does anyone have any suggestions for a middle ground approach? How do you write your books? With questions like that on my mind, I decided to look for a writer’s community. I would love to join one and form a group of five people who would work with me on my books and I would help them work on their books. Anyone interested? If you are, please contact me. My email address is wxxifan@gmail.com. Please use the subject title “WRITERS GROUP” (yes, all in caps to catch my attention as I get a ton of junk email everyday. Allow me a few days to reply as I don’t always check my email. If I do get a group together, I will set up a special email just for us.

Anyhow, after searching the internet for quite a while, looking for a writer’s community, I came across two websites. I applied to both of them, but I found that one didn’t let me join. It wasn’t because they were rejecting me, but when I hit the “join” button, nothing happened. So I thought that perhaps at some time in the past I may have joined. So, I tried to log in with my email address and one of my passwords. No luck. Talk about frustration. To add to my frustration, the one I did join wants money to upgrade. The freebie version is not really what I am looking for, so I have my doubts about the upgraded version. So, I’d like to know what writing communities you have found useful for new authors. I am looking for a friendly community that will give me constructive criticism on my work, give me encouragement and ideas on where to go for help. I’d also like to know what books to read and how to find people to help me in my research, which I have not begun to even think about, but know it will come soon enough. Actually, this is also what I hope to have in my “Writer’s Group.” Anyone have a better name for the group? I’m brain-dead this afternoon.

To ease my frustration I decided to read. I’m reading a book that I have wanted to read for probably the past 30 years. It is the book based on one of my all-time favorite movies, “Auntie Mame.” The book is Auntie Mame: An Irreverent Escapade by Patrick Dennis. The book is as funny as the Rosalind Russell version of the movie, which is my favorite version. There are two other movie versions of movie. I highly recommend the book and the movie. What is your favorite book? Your favorite movie? The reason I love “Auntie Mame” is because I want to be just like her. I think she is a great role model! She is kind-hearted but not overly so. She protects herself and those she loves. She is anti-prejudice in all of its forms and she is a progressive liberal. She is also a lover of arts and culture. Mame has traveled the world and embraced its cultures. She adores learning about everything. This is the person I would like to become. Is it too late for me, at age 67, to become her? The story is about an orphan who goes to live with his eccentric Aunt and takes place in the 1920s. It is pure camp but at it’s finest.

After reading a chapter, I got an idea for yet another book. By this time I was very tired and decided to go to sleep. I turned off the computer, shut out my light and laid my head on the pillow, only to have my mind run a mile-a-minute. I finally gave up trying to sleep, took the laptop back out and began to put the ideas for this third book down. You would think that I could sleep after that! No way. So I allowed myself to read a book that I just received, Wilton’s Special Anniversary Issue of their 2014 Wilton Yearbook . I haven’t purchased one of these in the past three years as I have been unable to decorate cakes let alone bake them, but I couldn’t resist this issue. The cakes are gorgeous, as usual. Wilton hasn’t let me down yet. However, they have a new format for their recipes and I hate it!!!! If anyone has any influence with the Wilton company, please tell them to go back to the old format!!!

I finally fell asleep somewhere about 8 a.m and I am still tired as I didn’t get a good night’s rest. It is amazing that I can even think clearly enough to write today’s post. But here I am, writing it. Now I have to decide what recipe to include. I think it has to be something sweet. I think we need another cookie recipe today. Let me think for a minute. I’ve got it! The perfect recipe for this post:

 

My nephew all grown up and married.

My nephew all grown up and married.

Home Cookin Chapter: MARILYN’S RECIPES

Cinnamon Nut Rugelach

=====================

“I made this for the first time for my nephew, Dov’s, Bar Mitzvah.

They were easy to make and turned out delicious. I then began

making them for Rosh Hashannah and my step-son, Scott, loves them.

One of the reasons I like this recipe is because it is paerve.” ~

Marilyn

Ingredients:

FLAKY GINGER-ALE PASTRY:

1 cup All-Purpose Flour PLUS

1 tablespoon All-Purpose Flour

1/2 cup FROZEN Margarine; cut into 6-8 pieces

1/4 cup Ginger-Ale, 7-Up, Fresca OR Soda Water (Marilyn’s Note: I

use Ginger-Ale.)

1/2 tablespoon Vinegar

FILLING:

2/3 cup Walnuts

1/3 cup Sugar

1 teaspoon Cinnamon

1 Egg White; lightly beaten

.

Directions

FLAKY GINGER-ALE PASTRY:

With the steel knife in your food processor, process flour and

margarine with on/off turns (about 2-3 seconds at a time) for 4 or

5 times, until the mixture begins to look like coarse oatmeal.

Combine ginger ale with vinegar and add through the feed tube

while machine is running. Process JUST UNTIL the dough begins to

gather in a mass around the blades, about 8-10 seconds. DO NOT

OVER  PROCESS!!!

Remove dough from machine, divide into two balls. Wrap each ball

in waxed paper and CHILL IN THE REFRIGERATOR AT LEAST 1 HOUR, OR

OVERNIGHT. The colder the dough, the easier it is to roll. The

dough may be frozen at this point if you are not ready to finish

making the rugelach. (MARILYN’S NOTE: You can freeze the baked

rugelach also. This recipe freezes well!)

NOTE: This recipe can be doubled in one batch successfully.

Flour dough lightly. Roll one portion of dough on a floured pastry

cloth or floured board.

Roll it into a circle about 1/16″ thick.

(MARILYN’S NOTE: Make sure to keep second ball of dough in

refrigerator until ready to work with it.)

FILLING:

With the steel knife in your food processor, process walnuts,

sugar and cinnamon until nuts are fairly fine, about 12-15

seconds.

RUGELACH:

Sprinkle dough with about 1/4 cup of cinnamon/nut mixture. Cut

with a SHARP knife into 12 triangles (each circle). Roll triangle

up from the outside edge towards the center. Repeat with remaining

dough and filling.

Dip the Rugelach first in egg white , then in cinnamon/nut

mixture. Place on a GREASED, FOIL-LINED cookie sheet. bake at 375°

Fahrenheit for 18-29 minutes, until lightly browned.

NOTE: Ingredients for filling may also be doubled successfully in

one batch. Extra filling may be stored in a plastic bag in the

freezer.

SOURCE: Noreen Gilletz, “The Food Processor Bible.”

Servings: 0

Exported from Home Cookin 8.59 (www.mountainsoftware.com)

 

CREDIT WHERE CREDIT DUE:

Help Wanted Sign clip art from http://www.free-graphics.com/clipart/Business/helpwanted02.shtml

Photo of my nephew was taken by his darling wife, Amanda.

 

Leave a Reply

