2 DAYS TILL CHANUKAH

NOTE:  This post was written while I was still without a connection to the internet.

 

2 DAYS TILL CHANUKAHWRITING

 

 

I am sorry that I have not posted but I have been having trouble connecting to the internet. For some reason my wireless connection died, so I am waiting for a new unit to arrive and it won’t arrive till tomorrow or Tuesday. So, I stopped writing posts, but today decided that was just plain silly. I could still use my computer for some things, and one of those things is word processing. So, here I am.

I took my the opportunity of my “off-time” to work on my novel, cleaned it up a bit, still only have six pages written. I let my hubby read what I have done. This is the first time he’s seen it. He said it was too descriptive and he almost fell asleep. I was afraid of that. That is why I gave it to him to read. So I reworked it and I think it is much better now. I changed the opening sentence and am much happier with it. No, that was not his suggestion. It was something I’d been thinking about. Now I am taking the day off from writing that book. It’s given me a headache.

I started yet another something…not sure what it is going to be, but I think Flash Fiction. However, truthfully, I have no idea what that means, so it may be a short story, a novel or a trilogy. Also, I’m not quite sure if it is going to be fantasy for adults or children. But I love how it is flowing. I have one page written for that. I let hubby read that to. I have one descriptive paragraph in the story about a city that may or may not exist. Hubby thought that it was too like Brigadoon. He found it to be a turn-off. Would you agree? What would be wrong with a Brigadoonish story? I hadn’t envisoned such a story, truthfully, I just wanted to come up with a fairy-tale city that may or may not be the final destination for my characters. I like the dialogue between the two main characters and I like how the story begins. I’m just going to let it flow and see where it takes me.

This morning I told my sister that I was writing a book. She informed me she is too, although her book will be non-fiction. She told me her brother-in-law and his ex-wife have each written excellent books and have contacts in the publishing world, but have not been able to get their books published. I was disheartened by this news. I know her brother-in-law is a very talented man and if he can’t get published, how can there be hope for me? Then I thought well, there are hundreds of authors who get published, so who knows, maybe I will be one of the lucky ones. But first, I have to write that book!

I have to talk about not being connected to the internet though. It is driving me crazy. I can’t do any research because I’d not connected. I can’t do my thing on Pinterest and Facebook which is my relaxation. I can’t print out the holiday cards I worked hard on creating because the stupid program I use requires you to be on the internet to work with it. I can’t read “Auntie Mame” because that is on Amazon.com’s Kindle app. And for some unknown reason I can’t download the books onto my harddrive, which I used to be able to, so I need to be connected to read all my books, which also means I cannot read my “how to write” books. If that isn’t enough, I can’t play my games or download new games to play. Can you feel my frustration?

Luckily, I just got a shipment of paperbacks that I ordered from Amazon, so I began reading Barbara Ross’ book, “Boiled Over,” which is the second book in her Maine Clambake series. I loved her first book, “Clammed Up,” so much, that I had to get the second book when I found out it was out. I just finished reading “Boiled Over.” Barbara did not disappoint me at all. In fact, I found this book even better. It seems to me that there are more plot twists in this book than in “Clammed Up.” Barbara Ross’ characters are well drawn and the picture she paints of Busman’s Harbor makes you want to pack up and drive there. Of course, I wouldn’t want to go till spring or summertime, because they, like us here in Rochester, get snow in the fall and winter. I’d rather go to Myrtle Beach for the fall and winter months. If only I could. Anyhow, I do recommend Barabara’s books. They are great cozy mysteries.

Now I am going to begin reading a book called “The UnHaggadah: How To Keep The Conversation & Wine Flowing At Your Seder” by Rabbi Mitchell Wohlberg. To me it is never to early to begin thinking about Passover. The holiday fascinates me and I strive to find ways to make the seders more interesting. But, it is too early for me to start writing about that holiday. I skimmed through the book last night and it looked fascinating. I think it may turn out to be the most stimulating book of Seder how-tos that I have read. I collect them. Well, actually, I buy them for my husband to collect them, but it turns out that I’m the one who actually reads the books and then tells him what I found interesting that we should incorporate. More about that in March or April.

I thought I would write another Chanukah poem today for your enjoyment:

 

latke

 

LATKES – A TRUE CONFESSION

by Marilyn Sultar

 

Latkes I could eat for 8 days straight,

If only I wasn’t afraid of what they would do to me.

I can eat a dozen at one sitting, couldn’t you?

I find it hard to stop at only three.

 

The taste, the texture, the smell too,

Like a magnet draw me to them.

Don’t they do that to you?

 

I know that Chanukah is supposed to celebrate the

miracle of the oil and freedom too,

But it’s the taste of the latkes that I celebrate.

How about you?

 

 

In honor of my poem and my love of latkes, here is another recipe for them:

 

 latkes2

 

 

Home Cookin Chapter: LATKES & KUGELS

Latkes: Cheese, Judith’s #1 – Dairy

===================================

3 Eggs; well beaten

1 c Milk

1 c Dry Pot Cheese

1 c Flour

1 ts Baking Powder

1/2 ts Salt

 

To the beaten eggs, add milk and cheese. Sift the dry

ingredients together and stir into the eggs. Blend to

smoothness. Drop by spoonfuls into hot fat in the frying pan.

Cook to delicate brown on both sides. Serve with syrup or jam.

I have not tried this recipe. It comes from “The Jewish

Festival Cookbook” by Fannie Engle and Gertrude Blair.

Note: The Judith referred to in the recipe title is Judith

Maccabee, the courageous daughter of the Judah Maccabee. It is in her

honor that we eat dairy products during chanukah.

Servings: 0

Exported from Home Cookin 8.59 (www.mountainsoftware.com)

 

CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE:

 

Quill and Paper clip art – unknown source

Latke clip art – by Gail Copple got from Bitsela.com

2nd Latke clip art – source unknown

 

Leave a Reply

