50 OF THE MOST IMPORTANT THINGS TO HAVE IN YOUR KITCHEN

graphics-kitchen-388436

I have to admit stealing this idea from the Ranting Chef. My list is different from his. His list had to do with the most important food-related inventions of all-time. My list tells you what I consider to be the most important things to have for a well put together kitchen. To be honest, I have much more than this, but then I am an admitted (should be committed) pack rat. I love everything and anything to do with the kitchen, baking, cooking and entertaining. Also, please note that if you keep kosher, you will need double of most things, if not everything, depending upon your level of orthodoxy. Let me know what you think are the most important things that you need in your kitchen.

  1. Food. My hubby insisted this was the most important thing to have in a kitchen. I couldn’t argue with him on that point.
  2. Enough dishes so that you have 1 per person in your household plus at least 2 extra, in case of breakage of in case it gets thrown accidentally into your garbage can.
  3. Enough forks, knives and spoons so that you have 1 per person in your household plus at least 2 extra, in case they get lost or get accidentally thrown into your garbage can. Hey, it does happen! Just ask me!
  4. 1 mug for each person in your household plus 2 extras as per above.
  5. 1 juice glass and 1 8-oz. Drinking glass per person in your household plus 2 extras each as per above.
  6. 1 multi-purpose wine glass per person in your household over the age of 5. You can always serve milk in them when you set a fancy-smancy table and make the wee ones feel grown-up. They’ll love you for it!
  7. 1 12” fry pan, 1 8” fry pan, a small, medium and large saucepan, a Dutch oven and at least an 8 qt. Soup pot. I suggest a good set with a non-stick coating and glass lids. I like glass so you can see what’s cooking.
  8. 1 good bread knife
  9. 1 good chef’s knife
  10. 1 good paring knife
  11. And to me the most important knife of all, Cutco’s Trimmer. It’s the only knife I use. I am dangerous to myself with knives as I cannot learn how to properly use them. Thus I have never endeavored to become a professional chef…well, except that once…don’t ask…it hurt big time!!! Also, this is the best knife for slicing bagels that was ever made, I swear by it!
  12. 1 set of measuring spoons
  13. 1 set of measuring cups
  14. 1 2-cup or larger glass liquid measuring cup
  15. 1 set of mixing bowls. I like stainless steal. Look for a set that includes tight-fitting covers for storage.
  16. 1 9x13x2” glass baking pan. You will find a thousand uses for this. If you get no other size baking pan, get this one.
  17. 1 9” round OR square baking pan – I don’t suggest silicone or coated or dark pans. Get the shiny old-fashioned kind. They work the best. If you can, get 2 pans of this size to make 2 layer-size cakes. You can always use one of the layers to freeze and eat later. I suggest 2 pans because most cake mixes call for them.
  18. 2 shiny old-fashioned cookie pans (or jelly roll pans) with the sides. You really need 2 so while one is in the oven, you can be filling the second one so you can just pop it into the oven when the first one is finished baking. I like the Wilton cookie pans the best. I have 6 as when I bake, I bake.  Get the 12x18x1″ jelly roll pan.
  19. Depending upon space on your table and/or counter-top, you need 2 wire cooling racks or a 3-tier wire cooling rack. I prefer the single ones. Easier to work with. I suggest getting the biggest your space can handle. I have 1 double rack and 3 singles. It is not enough for me, but I have absolutely no room in my house. I live in a very small townhouse.
  20. You need 1 good plastic spatula to take cookies off the cookie trays and to turn pancakes, French toast, etc. in the frying pan.
  21. 1 2-3” metal round cookie cutter, 1 2-3” square cookie cutter, 1 2-3” heart-shaped cookie cutter, plus 1 2-3” cookie cutter that you just can’t resist. If you want more, wait till you have everything else you need or treat yourself to one a month to begin a collection. There are so many to choose from!
  22. Then you need 1 good rubber spatula, but 2 can’t hurt.
  23. 1 large wooden spoon. Again, this is something you will find many uses for.
  24. 1 fine-mesh strainer. I love my old Tupperware stainer. It’s the perfect size for draining 1-2 lbs. Of ground beef or sifting a cup-full of dry ingredients such as flour. Can from Amazon.com  They only have a few left though.  The link is http://www.amazon.com/Tupperware-Colander-Strainer-Handle-Yellow/dp/B004RGIPFA It works for almost a half of a box of cooked pasta also. It’s also a good idea to have 1 large metal one with legs for bigger meals.
  25. 1 set of medium tongs with silicone tips. Another tool that is a treasure for the variety of tasks you can find for it.
  26. 1 roll of waxed paper
  27. 1 roll of parchment paper – NEVER be without parchment paper! What we ever did without it, I don’t know. It’s one of the best ever inventions in my humble opinion.
  28. 1 roll of non-stick aluminum foil
  29. 1 roll of Press-N-Seal. When this first came out, I hated it. I think they greatly improved it since then and I cannot be without it!
  30. Plastic resealable baggies in EVERY SIZE! Another of one of the best all-time inventions.
  31. A Kitchen-aid Stand Mixer. It will cost you your first born, but is so worth it! One precaution. It is super-heavy, so make sure you have a spot on your counter for it near an electrical outlet. When you have extra money, invest in an extra work bowl. It will come in handy, especially during holiday times.
  32. A good microwave oven of a decent size. Don’t skimp here. Get one that you can really cook a turkey or roast in and learn how to cook in your microwave. You won’t be sorry!!! We have an old JC Penny’s combination microwave-convection-broiler that is 28 years old. It makes the best turkeys in the world! Prime rib comes out fantastic, albeit with no au jus because the juices stay in the roast, making it perfectly juicy. Now a days you will also find many baking ideas for your microwave.
  33. A good toaster oven. You can skimp here if you invest in a good microwave. But I can’t be without either. I often broil in my toaster oven and I toast bagels, etc. everyday. You can bake, you can heat TV dinners up, etc. Some of the newer models even come with pizza stones to make great re-heated or delivery pizza.
  34. You can’t get away without a good refrigerator. Make sure there is plenty of good freezer space!!!
  35. Nor can you get away without a good stove. Don’t skimp on your stove!!! I love my glass-top. It is electric and it cooks, bakes and cleans up beautifully! Or did till my hubby got “smart” and started leaving the racks in while it self-cleaned. They were beautiful until he began doing that. Oh well, we are getting on in age.
  36. You need a decent food processor. Again, this will do a thousand tasks. Mine came with a mini-processing bowl and attachment that fits right inside the regular unit. This is a space saver because you really do need a small one and a large one.
  37. A slow cooker. I suggest an 8-qt. Even for a single person. The reason being, why cook more than once? Freeze leftovers in portion sizes for those days you don’t want to cook!
  38. 3 good cookbooks. I would recommend The Joy of Cooking, Betty Crocker’s Picture Cookbook and any Taste of Home cookbook. If you are really into cooking, invest in your favorite chef’s collection. The internet is full of recipes, but there is nothing like a hard-print book.
  39. If you want to entertain, you need 1 nice tablecloth large enough to hang 2” over the top of your table. Don’t bother with linen napkins. You can always pick up a package of nice paper napkins if you want to get really fancy.
  40. A pretty set of candle stick holders. Keep your eye out at garage sales and estate sales. Otherwise, hit the dollar store. Can you tell the difference between a dollar candle stick and a $20 one? Not if they are tasteful or glass. I know I can’t. Be artistic. This could be your statement piece.
  41. A lovely tall glass vase or hurricane lamp to make your artistic centerpieces in. Again, go to the dollar store. I was lucky, I got three gorgeous vases for my bridal shower and wedding that are classic and that I love to use.
  42. A large stainless steal hands-free garbage pail
  43. A dish strainer
  44. A sink mat
  45. 3 good absorbent dish towels
  46. Dish detergent
  47. Chinese skimmer
  48. Ladle
  49. Large slotted spoon
  50. Ice Cream scoop which is good for baking muffins, cupcakes and pancakes as well as for scooping out ice cream.

For those who really need one, a coffee pot or coffee maker.

 

 

5-minute mug chocolate cake

 

 

The following recipe uses three of the items listed above…measuring spoons, a mug and a microwave!  And I agree, the photo isn’t very appetizing, but I bet if you ate it out of the mug it would look nicer and either way it should taste great!

 

Home Cookin Chapter: CAKES 2013-2014

5-Minute Mug Chocolate Cake

===========================

By lil’chef_3

Added September 19, 2008 | Recipe #325674

Photo by Andi of Longmeadow Farm

Total Time: 5 mins.

Prep Time: 2 mins.

Cook Time: 3 mins.

Lil’chef_3’s Note: Made in a coffee mug that you cook in the

microwave! I got this from my next door neighbor who found It on

an internet forward. its delicious! It can be a little dry, try

topping or swirling with chocolate syrup?

Ingredients:

Serves: 1-2

Yield: 1.0 Cake

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons cake flour (plain flour, not self-rising)

4 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons baking cocoa

1 egg

3 tablespoons milk

3 tablespoons oil

3 tablespoons chocolate chips (you can add more or less)

1 dash vanilla

.

Directions:

1 Add dry ingredients to a coffee mug and mix well.

2 Add the egg and mix thoroughly.

3 Pour in the milk and oil and mix well.

4 Add the chocolate chips and vanilla essence, mix again.

5 Put your mug in the microwave and cook for 3 minuter at 1000

watts.

6 The cake will rise over the top of the mug, but don’t be

alarmed!

7 Allow to cool a little and you can tip onto a plate if you want.

source:

http://www.food.com/recipe/5-minute-mug-chocolate-cake-325674

Servings: 0

Exported from Home Cookin 8.59 (www.mountainsoftware.com)

 

CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE:

 

Kitchen graphic – http://www.picgifs.com/graphics/kitchen/graphics-kitchen-388436-808121/

 

DISCLAIMER – I do not get any compensation in any form from the companies that I mention, such as Wilton, Amazon.com and Cutco.  The products I mention I own, have owned for many years and really love. – Marilyn Sultar

Leave a Reply

