Car clipart

 

 

TRAVELING

Paul and I are hitting the road in a couple of weeks. Lately when we do that, we don’t have any idea of how long we will be away for. After all, we are retired with no kids at home. This will be a much shorter trip than the last one. Money is the reason why. Also, we will be closer to home. We are heading to Cincinnati, Ohio for our niece’s Bat Mitzvah. Then we will stop in North Canton, Ohio, to see our granddaughter who is a freshman at Walsh College there. I cannot wait to get to Canton. There is a wonderful cupcake bakery there. And I love that area of Ohio.

Last time we went I packed in a very weird way. It worked for me until we got home. So I’m not sure if I will repeat this method or not. Last time I pack one day’s worth of clothing for Paul and I in a jumbo storage bag and then placed that bag with a twist tie in a colored bag that we couldn’t see through. There was a bag for every day we were on the road and then 1 suitcase filled with the things we needed for a hotel stay. So instead of having two suitcases, we had a lightweight bag and 1 suitcase. The suitcase held cosmetics, personal hygiene products, bathing suits, night clothes, slippers, etc. Then we pack at least 2 six-packs of diet Pepsi for me, a couple big bottles of seltzer for Paul, a carton on of boost and 2 bags of food…mostly snacks. I have never been accused of packing lightly.

Since it is winter, I will take extra clothing and heavier clothing, so packing will be trickier. I may need to pack the old fashioned way because of this. I have big suitcases and will have room, I hope, in the car to pack them. Problem is shlepping them from place to place. Also, we have my walker and 3 canes to contend with, plus clothes that must be hung as we need fancy clothes as well as normal. Then there are boots to contend with and all kinds of shoes. I will pack at least 3 pairs of shoes plus slippers and pool shoes. Doesn’t everyone pack these things?

 

 

medical bag

Oh, don’t forget, meds…my hubby carries 2 large doctor bags (no, he was never a doctor, but was a sales rep at one time and that’s where he got them from). Last trip I forgot my insulin. It cost us $500 to get me insulin because the insurance company wouldn’t okay an emergency supply. I felt awful about that!!! I pray that doesn’t happen to us again.

Then who can live without their laptops? I will pack two laptops—his and mine—and a tablet—ours. The tablet was crucial to a good trip the last time, so I don’t want to leave home without it. And then I need my camera and lots of batteries. I always mess up somehow with my camera at important family events that involve my sister’s kids. I don’t know why. I love them dearly and try to plan for all contingencies. It just seems to happen. It especially bothered me at my niece’s wedding because my mom wasn’t there. At least this time she will be.

And who can go traveling without a good book and a notebook and pens and maps? Not I. So I have a tote to carry all of those in plus some magazines that I save to read on trips. Oops, mostly importantly, I take a first aid kit along. If I can convince Paul, I’ll take a blanket too, just in case. But by the time he packs the car, he won’t let me take it, I know him! At that point we’ll yell and scream at each other and I’ll go off mad. He’ll threaten to not go anywhere and I’ll steam. Never fails. But, hopefully, we will get to Cincinnati and the Bat Mitzvah and have a grand time and then go on to North Canton to let our granddaughter know how much she is loved. I’ll look back and smile when I get home and remember the great things we did and the memories of the people we got to see. At least I hope so!

 

 

junk-clipart-polls_z_snack_clipart_5048_362734_poll_xlarge

One thing I did that was so fantastic the last trip is I made my own mix up to take as a snack for on-the-road and to munch on in the hotel. Basically I took a few handfuls of Craisins, mixed in a can of Cashews, a couple handfuls of Cheddar-flavored Gold Fish Crackers (Pepperidge Farm) and a few handfuls of M&Ms. Put all in a jumbo bag, sealed it and shook it up. Threw it into my snack tote and it was gone by the time we got home. Paul loved it! I did too!

Besides snacking, the other thing I like to do on trips is play games. I doubt Paul will play this trip as he will want to concentrate on the road more than usual. But, I thought that I would include some games that I found at Mrs. Field’s website, http://www.mrsfields.com/blogs/blog/tag/best-road-trip-games-for-adults/ ,especially for those of you who have kids.

1. Who Are They? Choose another car on the road and imagine the story of the passengers inside. Who are they? What is their relationship? Are they a group of spies, headed to thwart an international villain? Get creative and share your stories.

2. Odd Colored Car. At the beginning of the trip, each passenger chooses an odd or rare-colored car (yellow, purple, orange, pink, etc.). During the drive, passengers get a point for spotting cars of their chosen color. Alternate idea: passengers can steal points from each other if they spot another passenger’s car color first!

3. License Plate Decoder. Pretend that every license plate is a personalized message and decode it. “HDR 732″ might stand for “Hairdresser Diva Rollerderby, 7 days a week, 32 hours a day.”

4. Fortunately, Unfortunately. One passenger shares a statement beginning with the word, “fortunately.” As in, “Fortunately, I remembered to buy snacks at the gas station.” Another passenger must follow up with a statement beginning with the word, “unfortunately.” As in, “Unfortunately, I left them on the counter when I paid.” You can also switch the game around by starting with unfortunate ideas first.

5. “No, it is not a _____.” A game of clues, rhymes, and stumping. One passenger is “it” and must think of a word (the more common and easy to rhyme, the better) and present a clue to the other passengers. If the word was “fly” as in a housefly, he or she might say, “I’m thinking of a word that rhymes with cry, but it isn’t pie.” The other passengers make guesses by giving clues to the “it” person, without revealing their guess word. “Is it something men wear around their neck?” The “it” person must figure out their clue and respond, “No, it is not a tie.” If a passenger guesses the right word, they win and become the next “it” person. Or, if a passenger stumps the “it” person with their clue, they also win and become the “it” person.

15. Would You Rather? Take turns offering various options to other passengers, either wonderful, horrible, painful, embarrassing, or otherwise. Find out who would rather jump in a flaming volcano or sit in a cage of snakes.

Do you have a favorite road trip game? Share your ideas in the comments section!

Here are a few more travel snack ideas:

easy-no-bake-granola-bars-9

Home Cookin Chapter: SNACKS

Easy No-Bake Granola Bars

=========================

PREP TIME: 10 mins

COOK TIME: 15 mins

TOTAL TIME: 25 mins

Simple granola bars with oats, almonds and coconut with a

delicious chocolate & Nutella drizzle on top.

Author: Jen Nikolaus

Recipe type: Snack

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups old fashioned oats

½ cup shredded coconut

½ cup sliced almonds

¼ cup brown sugar

½ cup agave

2 Tbsp. coconut oil

2 tsp. vanilla extract

½ tsp. salt

Dark chocolate chips

Nutella

Make Low-Fat Scrambled Eggs w/ AllWhites®

.

INSTRUCTIONS:

Spray an 8×8″ dish with cooking spray.

Preheat oven to 325º F.

On a baking sheet, spread out oats, coconut and almonds. Place in

the oven and toast for 15-18 minutes or until golden brown (not

burned!).

In the meantime, combine the brown sugar, agave, coconut oil,

vanilla and salt in a medium sized saucepan. Cook over medium heat

until the brown sugar has completely dissolved.

Pour toasted oat mixture into saucepan with brown sugar mixture

and stir together until every morsel is coated and combined. Pour

into prepared baking dish and press down so it’s even on top and

push down to make it stay together.

Let cool completely.

When cooled, cut into bars. Melt some dark chocolate chip in a

small bowl. Stir and then add in some Nutella (I eyeballed the

measurements). Lightly drizzle over granola bars and enjoy!

NUTRITION INFORMATION Serving size: 10 Calories: 270 Fat: 10 g

Saturated fat: 5 g Trans fat: 0 g Carbohydrates: 41 g Sugar: 18 g

Sodium: 120 mg Fiber: 5 g Protein: 7 g Cholesterol: 0 g

source:

http://www.yummyhealthyeasy.com/2014/05/easy-bake-granola-bars.htm

l

Servings: 10

Exported from Home Cookin 8.59 (www.mountainsoftware.com)

Strawberry-Muffins-4

Home Cookin Chapter: MUFFINS AND DOUGHNUTS, ETC. 2014

Strawberry Muffins

==================

Prep time: 15 mins

Cook time: 20 mins

Total time: 35 mins

Author: Michele @ Flavor Mosaic

Recipe type: Breakfast, Dessert, Muffins, Strawberries

Ingredients:

1 egg

1 cup white sugar

? cup vegetable oil

? cup buttermilk

½ teaspoon vanilla

1½ cups all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup fresh strawberries, chopped

2 tablespoons flour

.

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Spray muffin tins with baking spray or line with muffin liners.

In a large bowl, add the egg and sugar and stir. Add vegetable

oil, buttermilk, vanilla and stir. Add 1-1/2 cups flour, salt and

baking powder and stir until combined.

In a small bowl, toss strawberries with 2 tablespoons of flour to

coat. Fold in Strawberries into the batter. Fill muffin cups about

2/3rds full (I use an ice cream scoop to fill). Bake for 18 to 20

minutes in the preheated oven, or until done.

Read more at:

http://flavormosaic.com/strawberry-muffins-2/#VoSVJ5jAsvRX8gqf.99

Servings: 12

Exported from Home Cookin 8.59 (www.mountainsoftware.com)

Nilla-Cinnamon-58765

Home Cookin Chapter: SNACKS

http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipCookie & Cinnamon Snack Mix 5 (1) Rate It Now!

===============================================================================

Cookie & Cinnamon Snack Mix recipe photo by: kraft

“Here’s a sweet take on the classic savory snack

Mix. This one includes ground cinnamon, vanilla wafer cookies and

yogurt-covered raisins.:

Prep: 10 min

Total: 20 min

Servings:

Total: 6 cups or 24 servings, 1/4 cup each

What you need:

3 cups vanilla wafers

1 cup PLANTERS Pecan Halves

1 cup pretzel sticks

3 Tbsp. butter or margarine, melted

2 Tbsp. sugar

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 cup yogurt-covered raisins

.

make it:

HEAT oven to 375ºF.

COMBINE first 3 ingredients in large bowl. Mix butter, sugar,

cinnamon and salt. Drizzle over wafer mixture; toss to coat.

SPREAD onto bottom of foil-lined 15x10x1-inch pan.

BAKE 10 min. or until lightly toasted, stirring after 5 min. Cool.

Stir in raisins.

kraft kitchens tips:

HOW TO WRAP FOR GIFT-GIVING: Pack cooled snack mix in decorative

tins or canisters; wrap with holiday ribbons. Bring to a holiday

party as a hostess gift or give as a gift to that special teacher

or friend.

SUBSTITUTE: Substitute chocolate-covered raisins for the

yogurt-covered raisins.

HOW TO STORE: Store in airtight container at room temperature.

source:

http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/cookie-cinnamon-snack-mix-1201

31.aspx

Servings: 0

Exported from Home Cookin 8.59 (www.mountainsoftware.com)

CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE:

Snack Clipart – http://www.clipartpanda.com/categories/junk-food-snacks-clipart

2 responses

  1. Wonderful writing, dear Marilyn, and I loved the way you and Paul get ready for the road! The trip is coming, and I am starting to wish you a safe and super enjoyable trip, my friends! Love, Fabio 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you, Fabio! We decided that we will do a hybrid-packing this time….do the bags for 3 nights for on-the-road stays and the traditional method for the long-term hotel stays. As I’m typing this, Paul is making out our snack grocery list. LOL….definitely making the Crasin-goldfish mixture to go with us! Made appointments to go to the beauty parlor in Cincinatti for me, my Mom and one cousin who is coming with us. So getting ready!!! I can’t believe it’s almost time to leave.

    Like

Leave a Reply

